Posted by: bonmac | June 19, 2012

Hastings County: Stirling Cemetery in Stirling, Ontario

The Stirling Cemetery is in the northern part of the city.  Before I visit a cemetery I like to find a publication of that cemetery.  This is especially true when the cemetery is large and this particular cemetery is a good size.  It is located on Edwards Street north of Wellington Street.  I drove up Mill Street which took me through the main part of the city of Stirling and then I turned up Edward St.  On your left is the Catholic Cemetery and up a little further is the road that takes you into the Stirling Cemetery.  There is a row of trees on either side of the entrance. 

The Stirling Cemetery is on a hill so you do climb up fairly steeply.  The Stirling water tower is also on this hill.  Here is a link to a website where a very kind person posted photographs of the tombstones for many of the cemeteries in Hastings County including the Stirling Cemetery. The website is done alphabetically. 

http://www.angelfire.com/wa3/greenwoodontario/HastingsCountyCemeteries.html

Source:  “Stirling Cemetery (Concession 1, Lots 16 & 26, Part of Lot 10) also Anglican Burying Ground 1847-1878 Lot 48 in Village of Rawdon,” Recorded and Indexed by Eleanor Botting 1994, Quinte Branch of the Ontario Genealogical Society.  This book is at the Stirling Historical & Genealogical Centre in the Stirling Rawdon Public Library or at the Quinte Branch of OGS. 

I found this book frustrating and I think it is done by plots and not by rows.  This means that the name might not be the one you are searching as listed on the maps that are provided.  It was divided up into sections in the book I was looking at and they had nothing to do with the maps.  It was very confusing.  I actually looked at it twice, one at the Stirling location and again at the Quinte Library in Trenton. 

Frankly I had a lot of trouble finding the tombstones for the surname of Brown.  I was not successful even after two trips and that is a first for me.  I had specific ones I was looking for and some were easy to find and others elusive. It was either they had been broken and removed since 1991-1994 or buried with debris.  There was an overview map but I found it very confusing in showing the sections.  So you see I need to study this all more carefully and do another post about this cemetery.  I will be returning on my other part of the Ontario trip later in the year and maybe by then I will have a better fix on this cemetery.

What I will do here is just give a photographic overview and post the rest of my pictures at a later date with the link to them.  At this point I am only half way through my trip to Ontario and Quebec so I have a lot more of my adventures to cover.

Stirling Cemetery – Find the Water tower and you will find the cemetery

Another view:

Another view of Stirling Cemetery looking down the hill

One headstone with the Brown surname that I found very quickly.  The road that goes through this cemetery is very nice and easy to drive.  I had gone up the hill and went to the right and it was on the left. The following is the stone for John W. Brown and Catherine.  (Click on photo to make larger, use your back button to return to this blog.)

UPDATE 7/9/2012:  Below is a link to additional photographs of this cemetery.  I am afraid I did not do a really good job of it.  Most of the photographs are overview and you can see it is on a hill. 

Stirling Cemetery
Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

