Posted by: bonmac | February 12, 2013

John Henry Boardman Succumbs!

John Henry Boardman was the youngest son of Edmund and Charlotte Anne McMurray Boardman.  He is my granduncle and a younger brother to my grandfather Robert.

I have no memory of my greatuncle.  I have no memory of him attending his niece Aileen’s yearly Christmas party in West Seattle where we all went for many years. I was very young at the time and more interested in playing with Pal, my Aunt Aileen’s Collie dog.  It was Christmas so food and presents were of more importance to a very little girl.  Aunt Aileen’s husband’s son had little girls my age and we also played together.  If I met him, I do not remember.

Hopefully I honor my greatuncle a little in these posts.

John Henry Boardman at Graduation

John was mentioned in a Seattle Times article on Sunday, September 10, 1944 titled: Reception at New Quarters of B.A.W.R.  He was to be part of the receiving line.  B.A.W.R. refers to the British American War Relief.

John did apply for some military service as indicated in this Attestation document.   Interesting that he has his birth year as 1888 when I have it as 1886.

John’s Attestation pg 1

John is on the far left, standing.

Unfortunately, I do not know the names of the other men in this photograph.

John Henry Boardman

John died on the 15th of January 1957 in Seattle (West Seattle), King Co., Washington.  I found this notice in the West Seattle Herald, Thursday, Jan. 17, 1957 on the front page at the University of Washington newspaper collection in the basement of Suzzallo Library on the campus in Seattle.  They have a great collection of local area newspapers including neighborhoods.

Memorial Service – Memorial services for Mr. John H. Boardman, 70, 6328 28th Ave. SW, who died Tuesday in West Seattle General Hospital after a short illness, will be held at 2 p.m. tomorrow at Seaview Methodist Church. Mr. Boardman was employed by West Seattle Drug Co. as a druggist. He is survived by his wife, Mrs. Laura Boardman.

John has a simple stone and is buried in Forest Lawn Cemetery in West Seattle near his brother and his wife Laura.  They rest by a lovely fountain.  The stone has the Masonic emblem embossed between the dates of his life span.  John and his wife Laura had not children.

John’s headstone in Forest Lawn West Seattle

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

