A find: Richard Brown and Emily Ward

My good friend and I took a trip to British Columbia in February of 2001 to do research at the Cloverdale Library in Surrey, British Columbia.  They have a wonderful Canadian genealogical research center located there on the 2nd floor.

Here is the link:  http://www.surreylibraries.ca/programs-services/4815.aspx

At that time the Canadian census was not yet online so I used a microfilm reader and scrolled through the pages.  I actually like doing that for there is something amazing about seeing your family listed there on the pages.

My goal was to find my Boardman side.  I knew they were from Winnipeg.  I was working my way through the pages of the 1891 Canadian census and I came upon the Richard Brown family.  I could not believe it!  I kept going and a couple of pages later I found the Boardmans.  They were living not to far from each other in Winnipeg.  I was jubilant!

I didn’t think I was going to have an easy time with my mother’s side of the family because I knew so very little.

Ethel at School

This was my introduction to the Boardmans and the Browns and from that point forward the door to researching these two families has steadily moved forward as time has permitted.

So I sat there enjoying my find and studying the pages of the census and the Brown family as it was listed in the 1891 Canadian Census including my grandmother Ethel.

1891 Canadian Census, Winnipeg, District 16, Manitoba:  line 21, W1/4, 146: Richard is listed as being 36 years old, born in Ontario with his father and mother originating from Ireland. He is followed by Emily who is 35 years old and born in Ontario. Her parents came from England. Their children are listed as follows: Charles is 16 years, born in the USA. Ethel is 9 years old, born in Manitoba. Arthur is 7 years , born in Manitoba. 
 
 
 
 

 

 

Leave a Reply

