James and Mary’s McMurray’s Children

I thought it might be a good idea to review James and Mary’s children based on the Canadian census that I found for them from 1861 to 1901.  I still need to track each child eventually.  In reviewing the children it might help to lead to a good research plan and interesting events for this whole family.  I have featured the 1861 to 1901 census in detail in the previous two posts.

James and Mary McMurray had the following children:

1.  James McMurray born about 1849 in England in Newcastle. James appears in the 1861 and 1871 census with his parents.  This means the family emigrated to New Brunswick sometime between 1849 and 1852. 

2.  Edward William McMurray born about 1852 in New Brunswick. Edward appears in the 1861 and 1871 census with the parents.

3.  Robert Carlson Carson McMurray born about 1854 in New Brunswick.  Robert appears in the 1861, 1871 and 1881 census.  This son along with his wife and 3 of his children are buried with the parents in the same cemetery.  I will discuss this in the next post.  

4.  Charlotte Anna McMurray born 13 October 1855 in New Brunswick.  Charlotte is with this family in 1871 and 1861 census.  In the 1881, 1891 and 1901 census she is with Edmund and her children.

5.  John Jackson McMurray born about 1859 in New Brunswick. John appears in the 1861 and 1871 with his parents.

6  Mary Elizabeth McMurray born about 1861 in New Brunswick.  I have Mary with her parents from 1861, 1871, 1881, 1891 and 1901.   The census changes her initial and in one she is Elizabeth but I think it is the same child.  She is about 40 in the last census so she probably continues to live beyond her parents. 

7.  Richard McMurray born about 1863 in New Brunswick.  Richard is in the 1871 census only.   Richard lived to 1886 and was only about 23 when he died.  He is also buried with his parents.  I will discuss this in the next post.

8.  Thomas Murray  McMurray born about 1865 in New Brunswick.  Thomas appears in the 1871 and 1881 census with his parents. 

There is a mention of a Leena in the 1901 census who is listed as 13 years old and a daughter.  This means that Mary, the mother, had this child when she was 64 years old and we know that cannot be possible; therefore,  I think Leena is a grand-daughter of Mary and a child of one of the other children? 

This provides a summary of the James and Mary McMurray family and my great-grandmother Charlotte’s siblings and I can now do more census work to see if I can find them and learn more about where and what happened to them all.

4 thoughts on “James and Mary’s McMurray’s Children

  1. Pat MacMurray

    James and Mary (Jackson) McMurray had a daughter Ann Ellen Jackson Mcmurray, baptized 30 January 1948, St. Peter, Lancashire, England.
    James Occupatio was listed as stone mason, Abode: Pembroke Place.
    My source is Baptisms St. Peter Church Records (on internet) I searched for James Mcmurray and Mary Jackson.

    Robert Carson (not Carlson) McMurray is burried in West Branch Cemetery, Presb. Church, Kent Co. NB.
    Robert Carson McMurray b 1853, d Aug 15, 1904. Married Jane Sutherland, b Feb 11, 1863, m Oct 4, 1886, d Sept 21,1944
    Children:
    Edward b Feb 11, 1887, d, Mar 23, 1906
    Eva Jane b Feb 16, 1888, m Robert Kydd, Galloway, Dec 18, 1912
    James A. b Dec 26,1889, d Sept 4, 1971, married Katherine Atkinson Weldon, June 10, 1919(James and Katherine are my husband’s grandparents.
    Mary Elizabeth b Jan 24, 1892 d May 21, 1985 married William Benton Ormsbee
    Robert Arthur B Mar 30, 1894 d April 9, 1917 (Pte in WWI died at Vimy Ridge)
    Richard Ira b Aug, 1896, died in infancy
    Ida May B Aug 16, 1897 D April 1992, married William Gifford
    (the above information was hand written by Marg MacMurray wife of Alfred Weldon MacMurray. The spelling of McMurray became MacMurray in approx 1900. My mother who is a certified genealogist told me that the Mc was changed to Mac as an “affectation” to make the name seem more lofty.
    West Branch is located inland from Rexton, NB
    I have photos of the McMurray graves in the cemetery.
    It is difficult to go back farther in history, however, there was a James McMurray in Dumfries, Scotland b 1794 who married Jane Carson in Sanquhar, Dumfries, Scotland in 1819. (Ancestry.com) Knowing the habit of using the mother’s maiden name as part of the child’s name, makes me wonder if the 4th child born of this marriage, James, b 1831 (according to the posted information) could have been the same James who married Mary Jackson, although the dates do not correspond to James as being born in 1823.
    I am sure you will have fun with the above information.
    So many brick walls.
    If I can be of further assistance, or if you find any previous generation history, I will be very interested to hear from you.
    Pat MacMurray, wife of Robert MacMurray, great grandson of Robert Carson McMurray. We live in New Brunswick and have a summer home not far from Rexton. It was my husband’s parents who erected a stone in memory of James and Mary Jackson McMurray.

    Reply
    1. bonmac Post author

      Dear Pat: I am so happy to meet you. You are correct. It is Robert Carson McMurray. I will make an update and correction to the post and I notice another problem. Editing is so very hard, I do try. I believe I do not have Ida May, thank you. Most of the McMurray/MacMurray information I do have and have not posted on the blog came from other cousins who have commented on this blog. So I have only featured what I knew from my digging. One of them has a tree at Ancestry under Thompson and she lives west of Toronto. She has been trying to dig into the connection to Scotland. I have seen it spelled MacMurray and McMurray so that really explained the confusion. I have not yet tried to go back to Scotland, striving to get as much out of the New Brunswick history as I could. I have plans to one day go to New Brunswick to visit the family sites at the moment I am preparing for a trip to Ontario which will be in two parts. It would be so much more fun knowing someone there. I did not know about the stone being erected that is good to hear. I do not have photographs of the tombstones would you be willing to share? Thank you so much for the above information. I do appreciate it. Bonnie

      Reply
  2. John Hendry

    Hi,

    I have been researching a twig of my family tree, a Stanley John Anderson who married a Margaret Samuel the daughter of William Samuel and Janet Windram. Whilst investigating Margaret’s parents I found that his mother-in-law Janet samuel, nee Windram, was married a second time. This second marriage was to a Thomas McMurray on 13 Dec 1886 in Boston, Massachusetts. Thomas was listed as a labourer, aged 26, born in St Johns, New Brunswick, the son of James and Mary McMurray. Janet (Jessie) was listed as aged 37, born in Scotland, the daughter of William and Mary Windram.

    It would seem therefore that this is one and the same as the Thomas McMurray the brother of your great-grandmother – Charlotte Anna.

    As far as I can establish Thomas McMurray and Janet had three known children –

    Jameseena Mary McMurray born 25 Apr 1887, West Branch, Kent, New Brunswick, Canada. Seems to have been known as Zeena. Jameseena married Alfred Irving daughter of Henry Duncan Irving and Mary Elizabeth Powers on 30 Jan 1904 in Kent, New Brunswick, Canada. Alfred was born on 12 Jun 1879.

    Thomas Henry McMurray born on 21 Nov 1889, Collingwood, Simcoe, Ontario. He died on 31 Jul 1889 in Collingwood, Simcoe, Ontario.

    Alma McMurray born on 12 Mar 1892, Collingwood, Simcoe, Ontario. She died on 26 Mar 1981 in North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. The death record has her as single which suggests she never married.

    For the census of 1901 Thomas and Janet were living in Collingwood, Simcoe, Ontario where they were recorded along with the twins from Janet’s first marriage James and Robert, and Alma their daughter born 1892. Their daughter Jameseena was recorded in with Thomas’s parents James and Mary McMurray in Welford parish, Kent, New Brunswick.

    For the census of 1901 their daughter Jameseena was recorded in with Thomas’s parents James and Mary McMurray in Welford parish, Kent, New Brunswick.

    For the census of 1911 Thomas and Janet were living in Toronto, Ontario where they were recorded along with Robert from Janet’s first marriage, and Alma their daughter born 1892. Also in the household are james and Grace pringle recorded as brother and sister-in-law respectively. Grace was Janet’s sister Grace Windram born 26 Jun 1860 in Eyemouth, Berwickshire who had married James Pringle in 1891 in Leith, Edinburgh.

    Their daughter Jameseena married Alfred Irving, aged 24, a farmer, the son of Henry Irving and Mary Powers on 30 January 1904, Kent, New Brunswick.

    For the 1911 census Jameseena was recorded with her husband Alfred and their children Viola (Viola Beatrice) born , Clara (Margaret Clara Ruth), and Bessie (Mary Elizabeth) Irving. I believe they may have had at least one further child Charlotte Ann.

    I hope this of interest to you and I do have other peripheral detail which I am happy to share.

    All the best.

    John Hendry

    Reply
    1. bonmac Post author

      John: How nice of you to stop by and what a wonderful comment you have made. We do have a connection. I have most of this same information as always there is a little here and there that is different. I am afraid I have not studied the McMurray’s quite as much as I wish for other lines have caught my attention. Most of what I know is from cousins who have given me information and clues. If you have access to Ancestry you might be able to go to the “Thompson Family Tree” owner DRoberta she has a tree there with information on the McMurrays and she is very nice and friendly. She lives west of Toronto. She would really love to hear from you. I would love to go to the British Isles and hoping to do so in 2014, depends on how many pennies I can save. So I will be gearing up to do more digging into the McMurray line. I would be happy to share. I will email you soon for I want to know where you are in the UK. I am in Puget Sound in Washington State and it is a long way away from you. Again, thanks for commenting. It is appreciated.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

