George and Esther Brown – A Long Life!

While at the Family History Library in 2009 I tried to find evidence in Lapeer Co., Michigan of Esther and George.  I found their death records.

Source:  Michigan Deaths 1867-1897, George Brown death 01 Dec. 1891, Burnside, Lapeer Co., Michigan, FHL#2863829.

Name:  George Brown, DOD 1 Dec 1891, Death place Burnside, Lapeer, Michigan, age 90 years, estimated birth 1801, birthplace was Ireland, married.  Father Wm. Brown and mother Elsie Brown, occupation ret’d farmer.  #5740.

Record of Deaths 1867-1913 V. A-B FHL#974256 – #6597 Aug. 13, 1895 Esther Brown, F.W. Widow, 86 years 5 mos., Burnside, old age, born Ireland, no occupation, both parents unknown, date of the record June 11, 1896.

My cousin Robert Hayes informs me that George and Esther are buried in the Fox Cemetery near Burnside in Lapeer County, Michigan.  They certainly lived a long life!

This article is about the old county courthouse in the city of Lapeer which is the oldest in Michigan:  http://lapeercountyweb.org/history.htm Apparently they had a site crash that messed things.

This is the Burnside Twp. website: http://www.lapeer.org/Gov/Burnside/  If you click on the Master Plan you will find some photos and some very nice maps of the township.  Michigan has a Townships Association website that talks about townships in todays world.  The website link they give for Burnside doesn’t work anymore.

I have information that tells me they lived in approximately the northeast corner of Section 17.  Here is the link to the Lapeer Co. Genweb: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~milapeer/

It is amazing, if I had known about the Brown family back in August of 2007 when I attended the  Federation of Genealogical Society Conference in Fort Wayne you can bet I would have gone onto Burnside in Michigan.  Genealogical research is always a challenge to find time, the money and focus your efforts.  Before the conference, I drove up into Michigan.  I traveled to Morenci (Lenawee Co.) on the border of Michigan and Ohio, to view the Goss Cemetery there and then on through Adrian to the Rice Cemetery near Milan just below Ann Arbor to pay respects to a cousin who had done a great deal of work on the Goss family many years ago.  I traveled through three states in one day and was very pleased with myself having viewed the graves of ancestors.  Something tells me there is another trip in the making covering Michigan and Lambton Co., Ontario and I may yet get to do research in the Detroit Public Library, Burton Historical Collection. http://www.detroit.lib.mi.us/burton/burton_index.htm where I found an article on my Goss family.

Leave a Reply

