Ethel Adella Brown – Growing Up!

My grandmother Ethel grew up in Winnipeg as we have seen by the Canadian Census.  She did tell me about the Red River but I didn’t believe her.  All I can say is that youth does have its drawbacks!  She actually grew up on the banks of that northern Red River which flows through Winnipeg.  She would have been 16 years old in about 1897. 

Here are some pictures of my grandmother in her early years:

Ethel Brown circa late 1890's

Ethel - Right front

The group photo unfortunately does not have any names listed on the back to identify the individuals.  There is a man in the back row who might be identifiable as the teacher.  Ethel is the young girl on the right seated in the front row at the end.  The date of the photo is not given either.  I would put my grandmother Ethel either in her early teens or midway?  So that means sometime in the 1890’s at some girls school?  City directories might show the schools located in the area.  I am hoping someone might recognize it?  Something for the research To Do list.  I am beginning to envision a trip to Winnipeg in the future! 

The history of the Red River History at Wikipedia is quite interesting:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_River_of_the_North 

The song that was written about the Red River has the lyrics running through my mind as I write this post and I use to have fun singing it as a little girl.  I wonder if grandma would enjoy this…?

From this valley they say you are going.
We will miss your bright eyes and sweet smile,
For they say you are taking the sunshine
That has brightened our pathway a while.
So come sit by my side if you love me.
Do not hasten to bid me adieu.
Just remember the Red River Valley,
And the one that has loved you so true.
4 thoughts on “Ethel Adella Brown – Growing Up!

    1. bonmac Post author

      Theresa: I like it too. I have more which I will share. It is interesting that she changes a lot through the years. This is a a little girl and it is fun to share it. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
    1. bonmac Post author

      Heather: There are a lot more to come. I was very lucky to receive and find them. My cousin gave them to me so I am very happy. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

