Richard Brown Dies July 1922!

My great-grandfather Richard Brown died on the 12th of July 1922 in Winnipeg.  He was 76 years old.  He had survived his wife Emma by 17 years.  As far as I can tell he did not remarry.

He and Emma raised three children: Charles, Ethel and Arthur and lost one son Alvin. Emma died in 1905 as I have already written about in a past post “Emma Ward Brown – Passes!” dated June 10, 2011.

I did not know that much about my mother’s side of the family.  I knew about the Brown’s up to Richard and Emma thanks to my Aunt Aileen, my mother’s older sister.  It was sheer dumb luck that I broke through with the 1871 Canadian census and found Emma and Richard living near each other in Petrolia in Lambton County, Ontario.  Once I made that connection and discovered George’s marriage a brother of Richard, I knew I had something! I then went to the web and found the website at Ancestry done by Peter Cunningham titled the “Cunninghams of Sudbury,” I knew I was on the right track.  I was then introduced to Robert Hayes a Brown descendant.

The Manitoba Vital Statistics:  Official Notice of Death for Richard Brown July 12, 1922, Winnipeg Vital Statistics Agency, Province of Manitoba, Canada

Death Record for Richard Brown died July 12, 1922, Residence: 106 Niagra St., Sex male, Irish origin, widower, born at Rowdon, Ontario on 10 March 1846. He was 76 yrs 4 mos and 2 days old at death. He had lived in the area 41 years (1881). Retired carpenter. Arthur Brown, son, signed the death record and he did not know the name of Richard’s father or mother but he did indicate that Richard’s father was born in Ireland. Arthur was living at 106 Niagra St. Cause of Death: Angina Pectoris, secondary myocarditis. Burial in St. John’s Cemetery on July 15, 1922.

Please note regarding the birth location for Richard.  There is no “Rowdon” instead it is called “Rawdon” and it is in Hastings Co., Ontario.  It is a historic township per Wikipedia.  It is now known as a municipality called Stirling-Rawdon, Ontario. 

The following obituary was provided by my cousin Bob Hayes.  It comes from the Manitoba Free Press dated July 14, 1922:

Obituary of Richard Brown

Another of Winnipeg’s old-time citizens in the person of Richard Brown died suddenly yesterday at the residence of his son, Arthur, 106 Niagara Street. Mr. Brown was a member of Court Rupert Canadian Order of Foresters, having been a member for thirty-two years. He was born in the township of Rawdon, Hastings County, Ontario in 1846 and at the age of four moved with his parents to Wyoming, Ont. in 1881 he came to Winnipeg where he has since resided. For over thirty years he was employed in the Canadian Pacific Railway shops here and about five years ago retired. He leaves one sister, Mrs. Isabel MacIntosh, Grand Rapids, Michigan; two sons, Charles W. Brown of the Brown-Clark Agency this city and Arthur W. Brown of Clark Bros & Co. Ltd. and one daughter, Mrs. Robert Boardman, Seattle, Washington. The funeral will be held from his late resident 106 Niagara Street, at 2 p.m. tomorrow.

The photograph in the newspaper of my great-grandfather is very special.  There is another which I have featured on this blog in a past post:  “A Possible Picture: Richard Brown?” dated August 13, 2010.  I will repost it here so that you can compare the two. 

I believe it is him?  I know the lady he has his arm around, she is my grandmother Ethel Adella Brown Boardman.  The way he holds her makes me feel that it is her father, just remove the beard and age him a little?  The other part of this photograph is my grandmother is smiling in a very happy way.  She was not that open of a person but here she is just beaming.  I place this photograph around about 1915 because of the clothes that grandmother is wearing and other photographs that give that time period in the same type of outfit.

Ethel with her father?

 

Leave a Reply

