Richard Brown’s Legacy!

The estate file of my great-grandfather Richard Brown has explained to me were my organizational skills have come from.  His estate file was a dream and all very clearly laid out as to whom his children where and who was to inherit what!

His son’s were the Executors of his estate which contained a will. 

Here is a summary of the documents in this file which I found in the films of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

1.  Search for Caveat, Sept. 6, 1922

2.  Application for Probate by Arthur Ward Brown in City of Winnipeg in the Province of Manitoba, Manager of a Wholesale Stationery and Charles Ward Brown, Insurance Agent.  Value of estate not more than $9,060.13.  Last will and testament of Feb. 22, 1922.  Died July 12th, 1922.  Signed and dated July 31, 1922.

3.  Naming of the Executors – Arthur Ward Brown – Verifying Richard’s Death.

4.  Affidavit of the Value of Property not more than $9060.13

5.  General Distribution of Property – Money and Real estate.

6.  Statement of Relationship – Arthur Ward Brown, son, 106 Magna Dr., Property described and value $2200.00 plus $4393.65. Charles Ward Brown, son more property, 134 Walnut Drive, $700, 1766.48.  Ethel Boardman, daughter of Seattle, WA, some items given.

7.  The Succession Duties Act – description of interment lot.

8.  Affidavit of Value and Relationship

9.  Last Will and Testament of Richard Brown, transcribed from typed copy of the court.

WILL

This is the last will and testament of me, Richard Brown, of the City of Winnipeg, in the Province of Manitoba, Carpenter, I hereby revoking all former wills at any time and by me.  I direct that all my just debts, funeral and testamentary expenses be paid and satisfied by my Executors hereinafter named, as soon as conveniently may be after my decease.

I Direct my Executors to divide my personal property and household effects amongst my children Arthur W. Brown, Charles W. Brown and Ethel Boardman, wife of Robert Boardman, in such manner as may to my Executors seem best.

I give, Devise and Bequeath to my son Arthur W. Brown all moneys due owing and payable to me under an Agreement to sell the lands and premises described as follows:  Being in the City of Winnipeg, in the Province of Manitoba, and being the West half of Lot Eighteen (18) which Lot is shown on a plan of survey of a portion of Lot Thirty-nine (39) of the Parish of Saint John, registered in the Winnipeg Land Titles Office as Plan No. 46, subject to such encumbrances as may be registered against the same at the time of my decease.

 I Give Devise and Bequeath to my son Arthur W. Brown, all my interest in house No. 106 Niagara St. in the City of Winnipeg, in the Province of Manitoba, and the lands usually enjoyed therewith and appertaining thereto on which it is situated. 

I appointed my sons, Arthur W. Brown and Charles W. Brown, hereinafter called my Trustees to be the Executors and Trustees of this my Will,

I Give all the residue of my property both real and personal unto my Trustees in Trusts, to convert the same into money as soon as possible after my decease, but such conversion to be entirely at the discretion of my Trustees as to the time for the said conversion; and upon the sale of any or all my said property to divide the proceeds of the sale equally amongst my said three children, Arthur W. Brown, Charles W. Brown and Ethel, wife of Robert Boardman, and I empower my Trustees to postpone the conversion of any part of my property for so long as they shall think fit, and the income of any property remaining unconverted shall, from the time of my death, be paid and applied in the same manner as the income of the proceeds thereof would have been payable and applicable for the time being if the same had been converted. 

In witness whereof I have set my hand this 22nd day of February A.D. 1922.

 Signed, published and declared by the above name Richard Brown, testator, as and for his last Will and testament, in the presence of us both present at the same time, who, at his request, and in his presence, have hereunto subscribed our names as Witnesses.  Hattie Le Grant, S.R. Laidlaw.  Signed by Richard Brown.

10.  Proof of Will by S.R. Laidlaw and Hattie L. Grant

11.  Names of the Heirs – Charles Ward Brown, Arthur Ward Brown and Ethel Boardman wife of Robert Boardman.

12.  Proof of Will by Charles Ward Brown, son.

13.  Proof of Will by Arthur Ward Brown, son

14.  Grant of Probate on Sep. 22, 1922 City of Winnipeg.

In summary about the Brown family:

What is so very exciting about finding this amazing file is that it really identifies those who are the descendants of Richard Brown of Winnipeg, Manitoba.

*********

Source:  Family History Library films, Salt Lake City, Utah. Estate files 1871-1930, Index ca. 1884-1930, Manitoba, Canada.

1.  Estate Files 1871-1930; index ca. 1884-1930, Surrogate Court of Manitoba, Eastern Judicial District, Index Vols. 1-5, FHL#1381814, Vol. 4 (1921-1922).

2.  Estate Files 1871-1930; index ca. 1884-1930, Surrogate Court of Manitoba, Eastern Judicial District, Estate Files #14633, FHL#1411851 (Estate files 14595-14751, 1922).  Copy in possession of the compiler of this blog.

Leave a Reply

