Family Photos – Brown Family Memories?

I was very grateful to receive from my Boardman cousin a pile of family photographs.  These were the ones my Aunt Aileen shared with me back in 1987.  Upon her death they disappeared and apparently ended up with the daughter of my uncle.  Thank goodness. I had regretted not securing them at the distribution of Aunt Aileen’s estate, so I was very happy to become the owner of them. 

Like all family collections of photographs you have ones you can identify and ones think you understand or ones that are a total mystery! 

In the post dated:   September 28, 2011 “Richard Brown Dies – July 1922!”    I featured two photos.  One of Richard Brown from an obituary notice in the newspaper and a photograph of my grandmother Ethel with a man who closely resembled Richard in later years.  The fact she is laughing and beaming is very significant.  The familiarity of the older man with his arm around her planted a seed in me?  I really do believe it is Richard?

Tip:  To see more detail in the photographs below, click on the photo and it will open into a larger window.  Just remember to click your back button to return!

I featured this following photograph of my grandmother Ethel sitting on a lawn area in front of a house, she is on the left.  There is another lady and young boy.  At first I thought it might be my great-grandmother Emma (Ward) Brown on the who died in 1905?  The young boy’s age is confusing.  If he was one of Ethel’s brothers he would be about her age, not so small and young?  The other option is it could be Annie (Stobb) Brown, the older brother Charles’ first wife? I am not aware that Charles and Annie had any children.  She died 1907.   So who is the young boy?  The other possibility is that it is Eva (see last two photos in this post), Charles’ second wife so that means this photo is older than I think?  I am having trouble because my grandmother Ethel had left with her family and migrated to Vancouver, B.C. by around 1907, the year of Annie’s death.  She also looks too young? 

Ethel on the Lawn

Charles Ward Brown has been featured in past posts dated  June 20, 25, and July 10,  2011.  We know this photograph from the newspaper to be Charles Ward Brown. 

Obituary Photo - Charles W. Brown

 

This photo is in the collection and it is identified as “Charles” by handwriting that looks like my mother’s?

Charles with a dog!

 
This next photograph is from an obituary for Arthur W. Brown, which I have featured with the complete obituary in a past post dated September 15, 2011 and August 13, 2011.
 

Obituary Photo of Arthur W. Brown

In the following photograph Arthur is identified again, by handwriting on the back again it looks like my mother’s?  I am not entirely convinced and think it is Charles?

Arthur W. Brown Identified but maybe not?

 

The next photograph looks very much like the man above but he has a mustache?  It is not identified! However, in the last two photographs on this post Charles has a mustache!

Is this Arthur or Charles with a mustache?

Still another photograph that is not identified.  I am leaning toward Charles for the photo above and below?  I did feature this with Arthur in the posted dated September 15, 2011 but I am starting to think it is not him?

Again Is this Arthur or Charles?

 

 The next photograph is very difficult.  It could be Charles or it might be Arthur?  Again I think it is Charles?

Charles or Arthur?

 

This photo below is fun and I wonder what the story was?  I am not sure if they were really camping?  The man on the right makes me think it is Charles, which means that the young man on the left is probably Charles Jr. or maybe it is a young brother Arthur? Charles would be 8 years older?  Nothing was written on the back.  What was the dog’s name?
 
 

Two men by a Tent?

 
Does the young man on the left in the photograph above look like this man in the 3 photographs below? 
 

Maybe Arthur?

 
 

Arthur or one of the sons of a Brown Brother?

The following two photos look like Charles and Arthur with their wives.  I think that one of the ladies is Teresa (on the right) who was Arthur’s wife.  This means the other lady would be Eva (in back), Charles’ second wife?  Charles is the man on the left and Arthur is between him and Teresa.  Take a close look at the photographs above, who has the mustache?  I think that Arthur had more hair and was darker in completion than his older brother Charles.  

The Brown Brothers & Wives?

The Brown Brothers!

It is fun to speculate and ponder old photographs.  Sometimes you get lucky and make a discovery.  The more you look at a photographs the more you recognize similarities in clothing and surroundings.  You can always change your mind as you contemplate the photos.  Just because someone writes something on the back does not mean they really knew.  My mother Marjorie (b. 1911) and her sister Aileen (b. 1908) were their nieces.  There families had moved to Vancouver, B.C. and eventually migrated to the U.S. by 1917.  The chances that they really knew them are very slim unless the Brown brothers visited?  The above two group photos would have to be dated after Annie’s death in 1907  but closer to 1914 when Arthur married Teresa? 

Comments are regarding these photographs are most welcome!

Leave a Reply

