Hastings County: Stirling to Trenton – Quinte Public Library

Hwy 33 took me south to Frankford.  As I approached that city the road started to follow the Trent River to my right.  In Frankfort I cross over the river and turned south continuing on Hwy 33. Now the Trent river was on my right and this part was narrower.  There were what appeared to be dams spread out along the river.

Hwy 33 crossed under 401 and continued on into the city of Trenton which is split in two by the Trent River.  Finding the Quinte Public Library was not that hard.  You just keep going south till you run out of street, take a jog to the right on Hwy 2 and then turn onto Creswell Drive. 

I was just about to pull my map out to figure out where I had ended up when I spied a very large modern building and there it was the Quinte Public Library and the municipal offices. 

Quinte Public Library and City Offices

The Bay of Quinte is just off the parking lot and over a little ways.  I didn’t realize this was my only photograph of it because Hwy 2 didn’t seem to have vantage points for public use. 

Bay of Quinte in the Distance

The Quinte Genealogy Centre is located on the first floor where the library is situated.  You walk through the lobby and come to the main desk, turn left and find the other desk which I believe is the Reference Desk, turn right and then a quick left and the centre is in a room off this area. 

Quinte Genealogy

This center is staffed by volunteers of the Quinte Branch of the Ontario Genealogical Society and houses their collection.  http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~canqbogs/index.htm

I was not the only one who was doing research.  There was a couple from British Columbia who had taken over most of the available space.  I sandwiched myself in to take over a small part of the desk. They had come for the Ontario Genealogical Society Conference in Kingston.  The volunteer welcomed me and I signed in and gave her another copy of the Boardman & Brown booklet for their collection.  She left about an hour later to go and prepare for the trip to Kingston for the conference. 

On their website they have done an index that has a code that leads you to the source that has the information about the surname you are researching.  When I ran a search for Brown you can imagine the overwhelming amount of information that came up.  You can select and make a reduced list so that helped.  I started with William Brown, then his sons George, Thomas, Philip, Henry and a possible sister Catherine.  There was no way I would be able to go through every notation on the lists I made in the small amount of time I had.  My energy level was waning. 

I did try to find several of the listings I had made and found it difficult to find the item on their shelves.  They have their own coding and it was confusing.  I could easily see that I need a little more help in learning how to access the information and that it might be more than was necessary, so somehow reducing the number of hits was needed.

I spent part of the time reviewing their copy of the Stirling Cemetery book and taking more photographs and getting more details.  I also found a chart by a Mrs. R.E. (Frederica) Knight who I know has done a lot of research on the Brown family.  She is a cousin whom I have yet to meet.  My other cousin Bob Hayes also had a chart which he had submitted.  I could tell these had been there a long time. So I was glad I had brought my Boardman and Brown booklet and donated a copy to the Quinte Chapter of OGS as way to update the information.

Quinte Chapter of OGS Stacks

They had a copy of the “Birth, Marriage & Death Records of St. Thomas’ Anglican Church, Belleville, Ontario 1821 to 1872,” Quinte Branch-OGS.   The story is that this church’s graveyard had about 80 burials but when they went to move the bodies they discovered there were 579.  The publication of the graves and burials was done by the McMasters University.  Although this website is about Ghost Hauntings, it does describe the history of the St. Thomas Anglican Church cemetery: http://www.torontoghosts.org/index.php?/20080822389/Eastern-Ontario/Belleville-St.-Thomas-s-Church-Cemetery.html 

I did not visit this church nor the cemetery so I don’t know what the situation is at this time.  It is at 201 S. Church Street in Belleville.  I will find out more because there is family buried there in that cemetery and I want to know where the graves were moved to. 

My energy and tummy were complaining and I still had to drive to Belleville and check into the Comfort Inn.  I decided to take Hwy 2 to Belleville.  So far I had avoided 401.  Hey, I don’t want to scare the locals I dither and dally. I also want to see the country and not have to speed along a freeway. HA!

Leave a Reply

