The Second Trip to Canada: New York to Ontario – Niagara Falls

My second big trip to Ontario was finally here and my flight left at 6 am and three hours later I was in Chicago.  The minute I got off the plane I recognized the little end of the terminal area as having been a place I have spent time before.  Fortunately, my connecting flight gate was just a little way down the concourse.  I have gone running around the Chicago airport to get to my gate and then had them change it frequently.  All went well with this trip and I landed in Buffalo, New York early by about 20 minutes and my luggage had a priority tag on it which made me very happy.  The car rentals are just across the street from the baggage claim so that was very easy.

They gave me a Toyota Corolla which I have had before.  I also decided to get GPS and they handed me a handheld Garamond with something like a bean bag.  It is actually helping and I am using it to tick off the streets relying on my maps I have made which don’t always give me the detail I need.  They did not give me instructions for it.  I am use to other GPS systems for my RAV4 and on my cell phone like Google Maps or Scout.  I can’t use them in Canada because of the cost of data download, even though I did get that set up with our carrier for international travel.

My first destination was Niagara Falls, New York.  I wanted to see that big falls that is so famous. Two honks later (it is New York) I was in Niagara Falls and found the Days Inn which is right across the street from the Rainbow Bride which is a toll bridge. Yes, it is a toll bridge charging $3.50 for USA and $3.75 for Canadian.  I was going to go across it the next day.

Rainbow Bridge Entry

Rainbow Bridge Entry

Days Inn Niagara Falls, NY

Days Inn Niagara Falls, NY

Unfortunately I arrived in Niagara Falls and the light was fading although there was a very nice sunset over the Canadian side.  It is not always easy to get the colors in the photo that your eye sees but this is pretty cool

Niagara Falls NY Sunset

Niagara Falls NY Sunset

So why was I in Niagara Falls? Well it was the start of my second big trip to Ontario to find out more about the Brown, Boardman and McDonald families and see more of Ontario..  I am not going to say too much because I think it is fun to surprise you. So you will have to read this blog the Boardmans and Browns and also go to The Man Who Lived Airplanes blog to see what I post there.  I might also put a post or two on the Solomon Goss blog.  I will try to remember to tell you to go to another blog for more details but if I don’t just remember to check out the side panel of this blog and you will find the link.

I was up early and had breakfast at the Denny’s that was in the hotel and made my way to the Niagara Falls State Park http://www.niagarafallsstatepark.com/.  It is the oldest state park in the United States.  It is advertised as free and open 24 hours but they do charge $10.00 for parking.  The parking lot is well situated on Goat Island so you don’t have to walk too far to view the two falls areas.  It was not hard to get to the park, I just went south on Rainbow Street and came to a roundabout that took me to the turn to the right to Goat Island.  It took just minutes to get there.

As you walk toward the viewing area you see this green park area.

Niagara State Park

Niagara State Park

Introducing Horseshoe Falls

Introducing Horseshoe Falls

It is very flat at the top and then Wow, I did not realize that the water just plunges straight down at Horseshoe Falls.

To the edge

To the edge

 

Off the edge it goes

Off the edge it goes

The water plunges down to the rocks below

The water plunges down to the rocks below

Bridal Veil and American Falls are easy to get to you just head north past the food and gift store area.  The lower area was blocked off for some reason.  There were rainbows everywhere.

Bridal Veil and American Falls.

Bridal Veil and American Falls.

It was time to check out the Canadian side of Niagara Falls.

2 thoughts on “The Second Trip to Canada: New York to Ontario – Niagara Falls

Leave a Reply

