Ontario Wanderings: Hamilton Cemetery

About six months ago I learned that my great-grandfather Edmund Boardman had lived in London, Ontario before he went to New Brunswick.  He and his parents were listed in the 1861 census for Canada.  I started searching for their burial location but so far has not be successful.

I did discover that a great many Boardmans were in the Hamilton area of Ontario.  Hamilton is a fairly good-sized city on the western end of Lake Ontario.  I was coming from St. Catharines using Hwy 50 and 20 and made my way to Hamilton entering that city by heading up Upper St. James to York.  The Hamilton Cemetery is in the upper left of the city so I had to go through the downtown area.  It was good because I got to see the main part of this city.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/King_Street_(Hamilton,_Ontario)

Statue in Downtown Hamilton

Statue in Downtown Hamilton – Sir John A. Macdonald

I found my way to the Hamilton Cemetery and entered the office and asked about the Boardman graves.  The receptionist took my OCFA papers and headed through the doors behind her to the back area making the comment that they must be old graves and this would take some time.  About 30 minutes later this very smart-looking woman came out of the back area and gave me her assessment of my OCFA list.  I usually have a cemetery listing and know more about my subjects in this case Boardmans but was winging it this time.  I do not advise this sort of preparation especially in a large cemetery.

Hamilton Cemetery sign on York Ave.

Hamilton Cemetery sign on York Ave.

Now the OCFA is a list you get from the Ontario Cemetery Finding Aid and it is set up to feature the cemetery reading books by the individual chapters of the Ontario Genealogical Society.  So the numbers on the side are for these books not for graves.  She made a comment that they were of no value to her or them. http://ocfa.islandnet.com/

Cemetery Map inside the entry way.

Cemetery Map inside the entry way.

Parking is on the other side of this building which has the office for the cemetery.

Hamilton Cemetery Office

Hamilton Cemetery Office

Fortunately several of the Boardmans where just behind the office building.  I walked the area carefully but could not find any tombstone with the names.  I saw a lot of lack of care and many of the flat stones were covered with debris and others were broken or semi=buried in the ground.

An overview photo

An overview photo

The next stop was the Sunken garden which required that I drive down this narrow road down a sizeable hill to another area of the cemetery.  I thought it was this one area but it was really the large tombstone section and I did find a stone with BOARDMAN on it but nothing else.

Sunken Garden area

Sunken Garden area

The area behind the Sunken Garden, I think?  Maybe the whole area is the Sunken Garden?

Area behind the Sunken Garden?

Area behind the Sunken Garden?

When I return from my trip I will provide more details of the persons I found in this cemetery with the surname of Boardman. I do not know if they are my Boardman line but they are of that surname.  There were other cemeteries in the area with more Boardman names which I will need to do more research on.

This was the only tombstone I found and there was nothing written on it or around it.

Boardman Stone

Boardman Stone

I had thought of going to the Hamilton Public Library which had some interesting genealogy that I could have studied.  I also could have gone to the Hamilton Branch of the Ontario Genealogical Society but I chose to keep going and really did not provide enough time for digging in. It was time to head for my hotel in Brantford, Ontario and get out of Hamilton which was a little tricky but I made it.

Leave a Reply

