Ontario Wanderings: London, Ontario – The Anglican Diocese of Huron

Church records are extremely important in Canada.  There where no vital records before 1869 and it took a while for compliance in some areas.  My task was to visit the Anglican Diocese of Huron which is in London, Ontario.  It is located on the Huron University College on Western Avenue.  They do charge a $25.00 fee for research and for copies.  I used my camera.  They also require you sign their registration form.

http://diohuron.org/what/HR/archives.php

Parking it very difficult, I went to the visitor parking and the sign told me to go to the Visitor Center but there was no sign pointing to where that was.  It turned out it was in the building diagonal to the visitor parking.  I learned that I did not have a parking pass and she didn’t have any more and I could not park in the visitor parking as a result.  Apparently you need an appointment with faculty?  So I suggest a call to find out if you can prearranged a pass?

The building I parked next too at Huron.

The building I parked next too at Huron with the cross street of  Elgin on Western Ave.

After driving around a little and avoiding the construction as best I could I found a small parking area up near Elgin next to this ugly square building on the west side of the road which apparently was of some importance of which I could not figure out.

The Anglican Diocese of Huron is in the basement of the beautiful church like building with a spire right next to the large red Huron sign.

The Sign for Huron

The Sign for Huron

The Anglican Diocese of Huron is in the basement

The Anglican Diocese of Huron is in the basement

I went up to the double doors and found the chapel and then turn down the hall to the left and found a door to a library (see photo) and they explained that the archives were down the stairs behind me. In the photograph below it is through the doors on the right and 180 degrees.

Almost there go to the right and turn down the stairs

Almost there go to the right and turn down the stairs

The stairs to the Diocese archive

The stairs to the Diocese archive

The Doors to the Diocese

The Doors to the Diocese

I had emailed them about a month ago but they had no knowledge of my visit and the person I had communicated with was not there that day.  The director and the volunteer were very helpful.

This is not a fancy archive with tables to sit down and wait for your order of church registers. This is a small organization.  They are nice and friendly.

No admittance

No admittance through the hall into the back room for visitors

Here you will get the actual church register or you could look at the film but they didn’t seem to have a machine to use.  I had to sign a photographic release form and wear white gloves.

The woman I had emailed with had sent me about quite a few PDF’s of a list of the church registers so I was ready to make my order.  I would point to my list and the registers I wanted and either the director or his volunteer would go and get the register.  It was one register at a time.  I had made copies of them so I had gone over them and highlighted the ones I wanted.

About three pages into the St. Anne Anglican Registers for Adelaide Twp., Middlesex County I found Emma Wards baptismal record and she is definitely the daughter of Benjamin and Sarah Ward, the family I found in the census. I found two girl children of this couple but no others. The birth date was exactly what they had in the register. I was thrilled.  Unfortunately that was all I was able to find.  I tried for the Browns in Lambton, Levi Goss in Chatham which was a longshot he was Methodist not Anglican, the Boardman in Middlesex records, I was looking for death records for Edmund’s parents.  There are indexes to these church registers so you might want to find them first so you can narrow your search.

I eliminated a great many of the records as too soon. I needed the 1850’s and 1860’s and they are rare.

This is good news I have been able to identify my great-grandmother Emma Ward’s family and can now do more work on finding them.  I have taken it back another generation Benjamin and Sarah are my 2nd great grandparents.

Once I had completed my searches I headed to my car and down Western Avenue which eases into Wharncliffe  and further down to Southdale.  From there I headed east to Wellington and found my Comfort Inn on the other side of the street but situated right by a Tony Roma how clever of them.  They even had a $5.00 off coupon to use.

It was a good day, except for the terrible parking situation.

Leave a Reply

