Michigan Wanderings: Lapeer County, Ontario

After crossing the border I got on I-69 west to Lapeer.  There was lots of construction going on around Port Huron and it was a little confusing.  It was overcast and a few sprinkles but not bad.  Looking ahead to the horizon there were these rather nasty clouds and I worried that I was heading for another storm but it was going to be okay.

I-69 was a good road and I made good time.  I was reading the road signs as usual and it said 60 mph.  I paused, and then realized no more kilometers.  I was back in the USA!  I put my Canadian money away for safe keeping and pulled out the dollars.

My goal was the Lapeer County Heritage Museum and the Lapeer County Genealogical Research Centre but first I needed to print out some of my booklets which take up too much room in the luggage and are too heavy for the airplane.

I have been peppering all of Ontario and Quebec with my condensed version of my blogs the Boardmans and Browns and The Man Who Lived Airplanes.  I also add some descendency charts and other materials in the back of the booklet.  I give copies to various archives and explain what it is about.  I also add a pamphlet of my other blogs to explain what I am doing.

When you travel and try to find services it can be a challenge but I spied an Office Depot on the corner after I had taken a drive up Main Street.  So I turned in.  I tried the self-serve copiers but ran into trouble so the sales lady assisted and she couldn’t figure out what was going on with the copier. I ended up having them print out my 3 copies.  Meanwhile, I talk to the salesman about my misbehaving mouse and he said it could be a number of things like it needs knew drivers…hmmmm?.

After my copies were done I punched them and put them into the booklet covers.  I decided to just buy a new wireless mouse.  I had a bad feeling about my current mouse.   As it turned out the old one died that day and so I immediately installed the new one and what a difference. HA!

Lapeer Historical & Lapeeer Genealogical Society

Lapeer Historical & Lapeer Genealogical Society

These two organizations are in the one building on the north corner of W. Nepessing St. and Mason.  There is a small parking lot on the east side.

Mr. Hart greeted me and knew who I was.  He showed me the room that was set aside for the genealogical society and as usual it is always small.  He told me that he was the President and this was his creation being the founding father of the society.  He also mentioned that they had more records that they could not fit into the little room.  He was very proud of this society.  He has a right to it was excellent.

One of the former Presidents and volunteers was there to assist me and she was very good. I wanted to know where the Fox Farm Cemetery was so I would not be wandering all of Lapeer County in search of it.  So they both helped me to figure out its location.

Someone has spent a great deal of time indexing the newspapers of the area and it is amazing.  The volunteer and I spent the time trying to find George and Esther Brown. There were a lot of references to Esther and the guardianship which I have featured here on this blog in past posts.  George was more elusive and again we found a two line obituary notice for him stating that Mr. Brown died.  It didn’t even mention his first name. Sigh!

We studied atlas’ and more.  It was a good day of research.  I thanked them both, gave a little contribution to cover my copies and more and said goodbye.  They had my booklet so I was happy.

Time for lunch. I thought it would be fun to eat at a cafe on the main area of their downtown and found another Sam’s –Sam’s Coney Island?

Nepssing Street in Lapeer

W. Nepessing Street in Lapeer

It was still early enough for me to head for the Fox Farm Cemetery.  My lodging at the Best Western on Western Ave off of the Main street south of Genesse’s Street could wait.

Leave a Reply

