Ontario Wanderings: Stirling Cemetery a return visit…

About  June 19, 2012 I visited the Stirling Cemetery in Stirling, Hastings County, Ontario and took some photos and walked this cemetery.  I wrote about it at this link.

https://boardmanbrown.wordpress.com/2012/06/19/hastings-county-stirling-cemetery-in-stirling-ontario/

On September 17, 2014 I once again visited this cemetery in Stirling. Before I went walking in this cemetery I knew I needed to get some food.  The Odd Cup in Marmora I couldn’t find but maybe I didn’t go far enough?  Anyway I ended up at the Mad Dog in Stirling near Hwy 33.  I don’t remember it being there before.

Stirling has a nice library and a genealogical historical society area of that library.

Stirling Public Library

Stirling Public Library

Downtown Stirling

Downtown Stirling

Once back at the cemetery, I started by trying to use the maps that had been copied into the cemetery book that I referenced in the above post in 2012.

Looking north of Stirling

Looking north of Stirling sorry it is dark

The book is set up with a listing of the buried by section.  Each person has a number counting from 1 to 300 or so burials.  The names and numbers of each individual do not correspond to the maps.  So instead of reading this row by row across the cemetery it is done by section.  The information as to where the count is started and ends is brief and unhelpful.

The circular section A no longer exists because the road is no longer there.  I tried to find the Browns buried there and in order to do this I made a spreadsheet with names etc.  I used the maps as a guide and simply walked the cemetery till I found them. It is a hard business to do that so it was good I had lunch. Be advised that there is not direction on the maps in this cemetery book.  You have to turn the taking the right side of the map and turning it up and this might help get hem so that they are oriented correctly.

Much to my happiness I did find all my Brown tombstones except for about two and I am okay with that.  I found Philip Brown’s stone.  He is my great grand-uncle.  Unfortunately I could not find his wife Margaret’s inscription or stone.  There is room on the large stone that is Brown and maybe if I can get it done without too much cost I can get her and him a name plaque to be added.  Something like in memory of the Brown family who came…..cool!

Me with Phillip Brown's and others tombstone

Me with Phillip Brown’s and others tombstone

When I return to my home I will share more details of this cemetery.  I wish I had time to photograph it in total so I could add it all to Find A Grave but it was hard enough to find the stones that I was looking for.

The most important part of this is I now know who these people are in the family tree for the Browns and I plan to do more in-depth posting on the lineages down from the four brothers George, Thomas, Phillip and Henry who I believe I have completed see my post dated August 29, 2014.

Leave a Reply

