The Brown Families of Hastings County, Ontario

Sign Post entering Hastings County on the Trans Hwy

Sign Post entering Hastings County on the Trans Hwy

On this blog I have shared some information about the Browns who settled in Hastings County, Ontario.  I have focused on George Brown because he was my line.  I then shared about his son Richard Brown who married Emma Ward and moved to Winnipeg, Manitoba.

George and Esther Brown migrated from Hastings County to Lambton County and then onto Lapeer County in Michigan and died there.  I traveled to these locations in the Fall of 2014 and shared about those visits in this blog.  They had at least 10 children and I only come down from one line: Richard the 8th child.  There is quite a bit more to share on other collateral lines and it is truly a Canadian Story.

A brother, Henry Brown also migrated to Lambton County, Ontario and settled there.  He and his family are buried in Oil Springs which is south of Petrolia.  I have shared about Henry and Margaret (Orr) Brown’s family and featured their tombstones on this blog.  I feel that I have covered Henry Brown and his life pretty well.

I have not really shared about the families of the other two brothers that we know about out of the 11 children that are supposed to have been born to William and Elsie/Alice Brown.  I have shared the burial information about William Brown in past posts.

Hastings County Views

Hastings County Views

The two other brothers are Thomas and Phillip Brown, who settled in Hastings County and stayed there are buried there in the St. Thomas Anglican Church Cemetery (destroyed) and Stirling Cemetery.  I have placed memorials and tombstones when possible on Find A Grave at both Stirling Cemetery and the Saint Thomas Anglican Church Cemetery in Belleville.

Thomas Brown married Mary Johnston lived and stayed in Hastings County.  They had four children.  After Thomas died in 1848 Mary remarried to Thomas Vance and had four more children.

North of Stirling

North of Stirling

Phillip Brown also stayed in Hastings County marrying Margaret McMurray. They had about 10 children.

I cannot claim credit for all this research because my cousin Bob a descendant of one of George and Esther’s children and sister to my Richard by the name of Matilda Jane Brown was his inspiration for digging and finding these Browns. I would not have had the patience and I am so very grateful he has been very kind and shared his research with me and given me permission to share.  I have taken it and expanded it and added in other researchers.  Bob did this all by correspondence and I have found evidence of his paper trail as I made my way across Ontario.

It has not been easy, the surname of Brown can be very difficult to research because of the use of repeated first names like: Thomas.  Hopefully I have cleaned up the confusion and found enough information that further research can be done by descendants.  The loss of earlier records has also made the process difficult.

I do want to encourage that you take what has been shared and revisit it and double check it.  I am also willing to make changes and updates so if you think I have not quite gotten the information correct please contact me via the comments and let’s make it right.

Leave a Reply

